Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Run, Forest, Run!

Oh man... Running! Ick. I feel like it's the hardest part about training to get motivated for. Swimming is easy because I'm motivated not to drown. Biking is the easiest because I just looooooooooooooove being on the bike, so I don't need to search for any motivation. But running.... ah shoot me. I figured if I reached my fundraising goal, then I should be able to ride my bike the last 6.2 miles instead of running it, right? Well since that is not an option, I realized just how bad I need to get over whatever unconscious fear I have about running, and get my butt out there and (as Nike so eloquently puts it) "Just Do It"! I mean did I honestly think I would make it to the finish line (without walking, which is my goal) without putting in the work? I mean I know God performs miracles, but I just needed to be honest with myself. 

So everyone that I'm training with pretty much knows that I just DO NOT like the run. Well yesterday it was really funny because as our group started off running the trail a few bikes had passed us by. When they went by I kind of reached out my hand as if to say, "trade me", or "take me with you...".  One of my team members, Ann, almost instantaneously said what I was thinking at that very moment... She said I should get a shirt made that says, "I'd Rather Be Riding My Bike". How funny is that? And it's so funny because it's sooooo true!

Well that is my little tid-bit for now. Until next time, and as always...

~Be well~

No comments:

Post a Comment